The Formation

 

The International formation IsDD, created in 2010, responds to a request from the private sector (pharmaceutical companies) and the academic sector, to train students to design future medicines using computational approaches (in silico), and to accelerate the process of research for new therapeutic drugs. This IsDD training course offers high-level scientific training in a rapidly expanding field of drug discovery research, and offers many opportunities both nationally and internationally, opening the doors to the professional world in the public and the private sector.

This IsDD major, with a professional and research focus, supplements the training programme in Life Sciences and Chemistry through a training course with strong implications in the field of Health, whose cornerstone is interdisciplinarity. This interdisciplinarity is supported by excellence masters from several French and European universities (Paris Diderot, Strasbourg, DegliStudi di Milano), and byacademic and private sector “excellence” teams, with the participation of many international specialists from different countries.
This international major in IsDD offers two internationally oriented courses, which include many modules taught in English, an internship and/or study semester, and open internships abroad. It has international recognition.
The « Design bioactive molecules, IsDD-Bioactive Molecules » course offers the possibility of validating a double Franco-Italian diploma with the University degli studi in Milano (Milan).
The « Analysis of macromolecular complexes of drugs, IsDD-Macromolecules » course offers the possibility of validating a double Franco-Russian diploma with the University of Sechenov (Moscow). This course can also be done alternately.


This «In Silico Drug Design» formation offers all the additional knowledge necessary for research processes of new therapeutic drugs, «Drug Discovery» via computer applications (in silico).
Students will gain solid knowledge of chemical compounds, and their toxicity and therapeutic targets (biological macromolecules), biochemistry and physics-chemistry, as well as concepts of medicinal chemistry and molecular medicine. They will acquire advanced skills on computer modelling of target interactions-chemical molecules. They will be trained in the modelling, analysis and prediction of therapeutic drugs, biological targets, and drug-target interactions. For example, in silico approaches such as biostatistics and data analysis («QSAR»), programming, chemoinformatics, structural bioinformatics, molecular dynamics and modelling, docking methods, and virtual screening will be addressed.

This master’s degree, sponsored by the University Paris Diderot, offers two international courses, based on two distinct and complementary M1s and a M2 common to both specialties, allowing students to work on projects at the interface of Chemistry-Biology:

  • The course «Analysis of macromolecular complexes of drugs, IsDD-Macromolecules» focuses on the modelling of biological macromolecule targets and their interactions with their partners (drugs or other molecules). This specialisation is aimed more particularly at students with a background in biology/biochemistry, bioinformatics, or the biomedical field (or chemists with the required knowledge in biology), who wish to acquire in-depth knowledge in modelling therapeutic macromolecules. It includes participation by international experts, and a semester of study and/or internship abroad.
    Under certain conditions, this course offers students the possibility of obtaining a double Franco-Russian diploma: the Bioinformatics Master ISDD Course - Macromolecule Modeling, for the University of Paris and the Master degree "Infirmation Systems and Technologies", specialty "Computer modeling in pharmacology", for the University of SEchenov (Moscow)

  • The «Design bioactive molecules, IsDD-Bioactive Molecules» specialty/course, dedicated to the modelling of bioactive molecules and pharmaceutical chemistry in silico. This specialisation is aimed more specifically at students with a background in chemistry or pharmacy (or biologists with the required knowledge in chemistry), wishing to acquire an in-depth knowledge in modelling of chemical molecules. This specialty includes a semester in chemoinformatics at Strasbourg University, and a semester focused on bioactive molecules at the University degli Studi di Milano. Under certain conditions, this specialty offers students the possibility to obtain a double Franco-Italian degree: Master’s Degree in In Silico Drug Design, Development specialty in Silico bioactive molecules, from the Universities of Paris Diderot and Strasbourg, and the «Laurea Magistrale» (Master’s Degree) in Chemical Sciences, from the University degli Studi di Milano.


This Master’s degree trains professionals from the private and public sectors, at French and European level, who are involved in research using in silico approaches in the field of therapeutic innovation and/or oriented towards the development of pharmacological molecules.

- Objective of this training course: The methods of in silico Drug Design facilitate the discovery of bioactive molecules by enabling cost reduction and faster identification of potentially therapeutic molecules, while following the new guidelines to reduce animal testing. Effectively, these methods rationalise the discovery of bioactive molecules and chemical probes needed to understand the Living, and facilitate the rapid exploration of a maximum number of hypotheses to focus on the molecules that offer the greatest probability of reaching the clinical phase. Several commercialised molecules are born this way, partly on a computer screen, such as oseltamivir (TAMIFLU), as well as some molecules used in the treatment of AIDS. They are now irreplaceable in the arsenal of discoverers of drugs, and form a field of research that is booming in France and in Europe.
Recruitment streams for highly diversified students: This Master's degree is open to students from various initial courses (university or engineering schools): biochemistry, chemistry, biology, computer biology, medical sector, pharmacy, biomedical sciences, students of biotechnology or the Health sector.

For admission to M1:

Bachelor’s degree, equivalent degree, or professional experience. In addition to the administrative file, a curriculum vitae and a letter of motivation are requested from the candidates. After an initial selection of written applications to check the adequacy of the training, the candidates will be interviewed by the admissions committee to evaluate if the student has the prerequisites and to guide the preliminary work of upgrades in science and in the language of the student during the summer, as well as to guide him/her towards the specialty most suited to his/her career choice.

For admission to M2:

M1 or equivalent degree or professional experience. Recruitment is made on the basis of a written application followed by an interview with the Admissions Committee to assess the suitability of the student’s training and to advise him/her on optional UEs, refresher courses, and internship opportunities. A list of EU prerequisites will be indicated for students in the Health and Pharmacy sector.

In both cases, minimum knowledge in the field of chemistry, structural biochemistry, and a minimum level of English are required.
This training course offers many opportunities with a very strong demand in the job market.
This master trains professionals from the private and public sectors, who are involved in research through in silico approaches in the field of therapeutic innovation, oriented towards obtaining therapeutic targets, and the development of pharmacological molecules. The skills acquired by the students in the various modules and their joint projects, offer them opportunities in the initial phase of rationalisation and optimisation of the discovery of new molecules with the potential to become the drugs of the future, and in the control (and/or development) of methodologies and software to accelerate the process of finding new molecules for potential drugs.
There are many opportunities to pursue a doctorate in France or internationally, as well as opportunities for direct placement in the workplace (pharmaceutical industry or EPST) after the Master. This master offers opportunities in pharmaceutical industries and "start-ups", national or international research laboratories, both private or academic, or allows them to continue their studies by completing a French or international PhD. Students could obtain positions of engineer, research assistant or manager directly after the M2, or as project manager, researcher, platform manager, after a thesis.

Job opportunities will be in research and professional sectors, with the option in the choice of research courses in academic laboratories or private companies. 98% of students are recruited within the 2 years following their master’s degree, and more than 60% in the two months following the defence of the Master. Since its creation, the master has chosen to have a strong international orientation, since its goal is to train students for a growing field of research at the international level, and so that they would be able to integrate into international research projects. The international aspects of the Master (the classes given by international professors, the semesters of study and internship abroad, the double diploma) open up a wide scope of career opportunities at the international level, both for a PhD and a fixed-term contract, as well as recruitment opportunities in France.

The pie chart illustrates the distribution of students between the private sector and a national or international PhD.

Since its creation in 2011, this international master’s degree has been based on a joint accreditation between the Paris Diderot and Strasbourg Universities, University degli Studi di Milano, and, since 2016, offers two courses, including a double Franco-Italian diploma.

It offers two complementary international courses each including at least one semester abroad:

1)The «ISDD-Macromolecules» course focuses on the modelling of biological macromolecule targets and their interactions with drugs and other chemical molecules.
This course is aimed more particularly at students with a background in biology/biochemistry, bioinformatics, or the biomedical field (or chemists with the required knowledge in biology), who wish to acquire in-depth knowledge in modelling therapeutic macromolecules. It includes participation by international experts, and a semester of study and/or internship abroad.
In this specialty, semesters 1, 2 and 3 are completed at the Paris-Diderot University (with the possibility of completing semester 2 at the University degli Studi di Milano in Erasmus), and semester 4, an initial research internship, is strongly encouraged abroad.
As part of the double degree for Russian students, they will do their 1st year of master at the University of Sechenov, the S3 at Paris Diderot University and the S4 internship at the University of their choice.
As part of the double degree, students from Paris will be able to do their semester 2 and / or their semester 4 internship at Sechenov University.

2) The «IsDD- bioactive molecules» course, jointly run by the Universities of Strasbourg and Paris Diderot, is dedicated to the modelling of bioactive molecules and pharmaceutical chemistry in silico. This course is aimed more specifically at students with a background in chemistry or pharmacy (or biologists with the required knowledge in chemistry), wishing to acquire in-depth knowledge in modelling of chemical molecules. This specialty includes a semester in chemoinformatics at the University of Strasbourg, and a semester focused on bioactive molecules at the University degli Studi di Milano. Under certain conditions, this specialty offers students the possibility to obtain a double Franco-Italian degree: Master’s Degree in In Silico Drug Design, with specialty in in Silico Development of bioactive molecules, from the Paris Diderot and Strasbourg Universities, and the Master’s Degree in Chemical Sciences, from the University degli Studi di Milano.
This specialty offers semester 1 at Strasbourg University, semester 2 at the University degli Studi di Milano, then semester 3 at the Paris-Diderot University, and a final semester in internship in France or abroad. As part of the double degree for Italian students, they will complete their first year of master's degree at the University degli Studi di Milano, the S3 at the University Paris Diderot, and the S4 in internship at the University degli Studi di Milano.





*Opportunities of Erasmus grants

Présentation du master

 



Le Master international IsDD, créé en 2010 répond à une demande du secteur privé (entreprises pharmaceutiques) et du secteur académique, pour former des étudiants à modéliser les futurs médicaments à l’aide des approches computationnelles (in silico) et à accélérer le processus de recherche de nouvelles molécules thérapeutiques. Cette formation IsDD propose une formation scientifique de haut niveau dans un domaine de recherche du « drug discovery » en plein essor et offre de nombreux débouchés aussi bien au niveau national qu’international, elle ouvre les portes du monde professionnel dans le secteur public et le secteur privé.

Cette mention IsDD, à finalité pro et recherche, complète l’offre de formation en Sciences du Vivant et en Chimie par une formation avec de fortes implications dans le domaine de la Santé dont la clé de voûte est l’interdisciplinarité. Cette interdisciplinarité s’appuie sur des masters d’excellence de plusieurs universités françaises et européennes (Paris Diderot, Strasbourg, Degli studi di Milano), des équipes académiques et du privé d’excellence et la participation de nombreux spécialistes internationaux de différents pays.
Cette mention internationale IsDD propose deux spécialités à visée internationale, qui incluent de nombreux modules enseignés en anglais, un semestre de stage et/ ou d’étude et des stages à l’étranger et ouvrent. Elle a une reconnaissance au niveau international.
Une spécialité offre la possibilité de valider un double diplôme franco-italien.
Ce master «In Silico Drug Design» propose l’ensemble des connaissances complémentaires nécessaires au processus de recherche de nouvelles molécules thérapeutiques, «Drug Discovery» par des approches computationnelles (in silico).
Les étudiants acquiè;rent des connaissances solides sur les composés chimiques et leur toxicité et sur les cibles thérapeutiques (macromolécules biologiques), en biochimie et physique-chimie ainsi que des notions de chimie médicinale et de médecine moléculaire. Ils acquiè;rent des compétences avancées sur la modélisation par ordinateur des interactions cibles-molécules chimiques. Ils sont formés à la modélisation, l’analyse et la prédiction des molécules thérapeutiques, des cibles biologiques et des interactions « médicament-cible ». Par exemple, aux approches in silico telles que les biostatistiques et l’analyse de données (« QSAR »), la programmation, la chemoinformatique, la bioinformatique structurale, la modélisation et dynamique moléculaire, les méthodes d’amarrage moléculaire (docking) et le criblage virtuel.

Ce master porté par l’université Paris Diderot, propose deux spécialités internationales, qui reposent sur deux M1 distincts et complémentaires et un M2 commun aux deux spécialités, qui permet aux étudiants de travailler à des projets à l’interface de la Chimie-Biologie :

  • La spécialité « Analyse in silico des complexes médicaments-macromolécules biologiques, MACROMOLECULES » se concentre sur la modélisation des cibles macromolécules biologiques et de leurs interactions avec leurs partenaires (molécules médicaments ou autres). Cette spécialité s’adresse plus particuliè;rement aux étudiants ayant une formation en biologie/biochimie, en bioinformatique ou du domaine biomédicale (ou à des chimistes ayant les connaissances requises en biologie), souhaitant acquérir des connaissances approfondies en modélisation des macromolécules thérapeutiques. Elle inclut des interventions d’experts internationaux et un semestre d’étude et/ou de stage à l’étranger.

  • La spécialité « Design in silico des molécules bioactives, MOLECULES BIOACTIVES » dédiée à la modélisation des molécules bioactives et à la chimie pharmaceutique in silico. Cette spécialité s’adresse plus particuliè;rement aux étudiants ayant une formation en chimie ou en pharmacie (ou à des biologistes ayant les connaissances requises en chimie), souhaitant acquérir des connaissances approfondies en modélisation des molécules chimiques. Cette spécialité inclut un semestre en chémoinformatique à l’université de Strasbourg, un semestre orienté sur les molécules bioactives à l’Université degli studi di Milano. Sous certaines conditions, cette spécialité offre la possibilité aux étudiants d’obtenir un double diplôme Franco-Italien : le Master In Silico Drug Design, spécialité Développement in Silico des molécules bioactives, pour les Université Paris Diderot et de Strasbourg et le Laurea Magistrale in Scienze Chimiche, pour l’Università degli Studi di Milano.
Ces deux spécialités correspondent chacune à 50% des cours en anglais et incluent au moins un semestre à l’étranger.

Ce master forme des professionnels(les) du privé et du public, au niveau français mais ausi européen, acteurs de la recherche par des approches in silico dans le domaine de l’innovation thérapeutique et/ou orientés vers le développement de molécules pharmacologiques.


- Contexte de cette formation :
Les méthodes de Drug Design in silico facilitent la découverte de molécules bioactives, permettent de diminuer les coûts et d’identifier plus rapidement des molécules potentiellement thérapeutiques tout en suivant les nouvelles directives visant à réduire l’expérimentation animale. En effet, ces méthodes rationalisent la découverte de molécules bioactives et de sondes chimiques nécessaires à la compréhension du Vivant et facilitent l’exploration rapide d’un maximum d’hypothè;ses pour se consacrer aux molécules qui offrent la plus grande probabilité d’atteindre la phase clinique. Plusieurs molécules commercialisées sont ainsi nées, en partie, sur un écran d’ordinateur, comme l’oseltamivir (TAMIFLU) et certaines molécules utilisées dans le traitement du SIDA. Elles sont désormais irremplaçables dans l’arsenal des découvreurs de médicaments et forment un domaine de recherche en plein essor en France et en Europe.
Cette mention de master accueille des étudiants de diverses formations initiales (universitaires ou écoles d’ingénieurs) : biochimie, chimie, biologie, biologie-informatique, secteur médical, pharmacie, sciences biomédicales.


Cette formation offre de nombreux débouchés avec une très forte demande sur le marché de l’emploi.
Ce master forme des professionnels(les) du privé et du public, acteurs de la recherche par des approches in silico dans le domaine de l’innovation thérapeutique, orienté vers la validation de cibles thérapeutiques et le développement de molécules pharmacologiques. Les compétences acquises par les étudiants lors des différents modules et de leur projets commun, leur offrent des débouchés dans la phase initiale de rationalisation et d’optimisation de la découverte de nouvelles molécules candidates médicaments, dans la maîtrise (et/ou le développement) des méthodologies et des logiciels permettant d’accélérer le processus de recherche des nouvelles molécules candidates médicaments.
Il y a de nombreuses opportunités de poursuite en doctorat en France ou à l’international, mais aussi des possibilités d’insertion directe en milieu professionnel (industrie pharmaceutique ou EPST) apèrs le Master. Ce master offre des débouchés dans des industries pharmaceutiques et des « jeunes pousses », des laboratoires de recherche nationaux ou internationaux, privés ou académiques ou leur permet de poursuivre leurs études en effectuant un doctorat français ou international. Les étudiants obtiennent des postes d’ingénieur, assistant de recherche ou manager directement après le M2 ou en tant que chef de projet, chercheur, responsable de plate-forme, après une thèse.

Les débouchés sont à finalité recherche et pro, l’orientation se fait au niveau du choix des stages de recherche en laboratoires académiques ou en entreprises privées. 98% des étudiants sont recrutés dans les 2 années qui suivent leur master. Plus de 60 dans les deux mois qui suivent la soutenance du Master

Dès sa création, le master a choisi d’avoir une forte orientation internationale, car son but est de former des étudiants dans un domaine de recherche en pleine expansion au niveau international et qu’ils puissent s’intégrer dans des projets de recherche internationaux. La formation internationale du Master (les interventions de professeurs internationaux, les semestres d’étude et de stage à l’étranger, le double diplôme) ouvre très largement les opportunités de débouchés au niveau international, aussi bien en thèse qu’en CDD, mais aussi les opportunités de recrutement en France.

Le camembert illustre la répartition des étudiants en privé et en thè;se nationale ou internationale.



Ce master à visée internationale repose sur une co-habilitation entre les universités Paris Diderot et Strasbourg et degli studi di Milano, depuis sa création en 2011 et propose deux spécialités depuis 2016 dont un double diplôme Franco-Italien.

Il propose deux spécialités internationales complémentaires incluant chacune au moins un semestre à l’étranger :

1) La spécialité « Analyse in silico des complexes macromolécules biologiques-médicaments, MACROMOLECULES » , se concentre sur la modélisation des cibles macromolécules biologiques et de leurs interactions avec les médicaments et autres molécules chimiques. Cette spécialité s’adresse plus particulièrement aux étudiants ayant une formation en biologie/biochimie, en bioinformatique ou du domaine biomédicale (ou à des chimistes ayant les connaissances requises en biologie), souhaitant acquérir des connaissances approfondies en modélisation des macromolécules thérapeutiques. Elle inclut des interventions d’experts internationaux et un semestre d’étude et/ou de stage à l’étranger.
Dans cette spécialité, les différents semestres 1, 2 et 3 sont effectués à l’université Paris-Diderot (avec la possibilité d’effectuer semestre 2 à l’Université degli Studi di Milano en Erasmus) et le semestre 4 en stage d’initiation à la recherche est fortement encouragé à l’étranger.

2) La spécialité « Design in silico des molécules bioactives, MOLECULES BIOACTIVES », cohabilitée par l’Université de Strasbourg et Paris Diderot, est dédiée à la modélisation des molécules bioactives et à la chimie pharmaceutique in silico. Cette spécialité s’adresse plus particulièrement aux étudiants ayant une formation en chimie ou en pharmacie (ou à des biologistes ayant les connaissances requises en chimie), souhaitant acquérir des connaissances approfondies en modélisation des molécules chimiques. Cette spécialité inclut un semestre en chémoinformatique à l’université de Strasbourg, un semestre orienté sur les molécules bioactives à l’Université degli studi di Milano. Sous certaines conditions, cette spécialité offre la possibilité aux étudiants d’obtenir un double diplôme Franco-Italien : le Master In Silico Drug Design, spécialité Développement in Silico des molécules bioactives, pour les Université Paris Diderot et de Strasbourg et le Laurea Magistrale in Scienze Chimiche, pour l’Università degli Studi di Milano.

Cette spécialité propose le semestre 1 à l’université de Strasbourg, le semestre 2 à l’Université degli Studi di Milano puis le semestre 3 à l’université Paris-Diderot et un dernier semestre de stage en France ou à l’étranger. Dans le cadre du double diplôme pour les étudiants italiens, ceux-ci effectueront leur 1ere année de master à l’Université degli Studi di Milano, le S3 à l'université Paris Diderot et le S4 en stage à l’Université degli Studi di Milano.



SPECIALITE
MACROMOLECULES BIOLOGIQUES



SPECIALITE
MOLECULES BIOACTIVES
(Possibilité de Double diplôme)
SEMESTRE 1
Université Paris Diderot
(Pr O. Taboureau)
CHEMOINFORMATIQUE EN DRUG DESIGN


OU
SEMESTRE 1
Université de Strasbourg
(Pr A. Varnek/Dr G.Marcou)
CHEMOINFORMATIQUE

SEMESTRE 2
Université Paris Diderot
(Pr O. Taboureau)
MACROMOLECULES

OU
SEMESTRE 2 *
Université degli Studi de Milan
(Pr S. Pieraccini/Pr L. Belvisi)
MOLECULES BIOACTIVES
SEMESTRE 3
Université Paris Diderot & Paris Descartes
(Pr A-C Camproux)
DRUG DESIGN et CRIBLAGE IN SILICO
SEMESTRE 4
STAGES A L’ETRANGER *
(Pr A-C Camproux)
En Angleterre, Finlande, Italie, Suède,
Danemark, Bulgarie, Australie, Corée, EU, …

SEMESTRE 4
STAGES
(Pr A-C Camproux)



*Les étudiants pourront bénéficier de bourses Erasmus


En terme de logement, les universités participantes proposent des logements en résidence universitaire afin de simplifier la mobilité des étudiants pour les différents semestres de leur master (Voir liens utiles).